The Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation Photobook Awards

By 22/06/2014News



The Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation Photobook Awards


Initiated in November 2011 by Aperture Foundation and Paris Photo, the Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation Photobook Awards celebrate the photobook’s contribution to the evolving narrative of photography, with prizes in two categories: First PhotoBook and Photobook of the Year. The exhibition at The Library Project offers the visitor the chance to browse the 30 books shortlisted, including the two winners.


The Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation Photobook Awards 2013: The shortlist




The twenty short-listed titles for First Photobook are:

Photographer: Óscar Monzón
Publisher: RVB Books, Paris / Dalpine, Madrid

World of Details
Photographer: Viktoria Binschtok
Publisher: Distanz, Berlin

A Period of Juvenile Prosperity
Photographer: Mike Brodie
Publisher: Twin Palms Publishers, Santa Fe, N.Mex.

Photographer: Delphine Burtin
Publisher: Self-published

Speaking of scars
Photographer: Teresa Eng
Publisher: If/Then Books, London

Photographer: Craig Fineman
Publisher: Stussy / Dashwood Books, New York

The Canaries
Photographer: Thilde Jensen
Publisher: LENA Publications, Truxton, N.Y.

Nine Nameless Mountains
Photographers: Maanantai Collective
Publisher: Kehrer Verlag, Heidelberg, Germany

Top Secret: Images from the Stasi Archives
Editor: Simon Menner
Publisher: Hatje Cantz, Ostfildern, Germany

Photographer: Adam Pańczuk
Publisher: Self-published

The Fourth Wall
Photographer: Max Pinckers
Publisher: Self-published

History of the Visit
Photographer: Daniel Reuter
Publisher: Self-published

Editor: Thomas Sauvin
Publisher: Archive of Modern Conflict, London

Beautiful Pig
Photographer: Ben Schonberger
Publisher: Self-published

Grays the Mountain Sends
Photographer: Bryan Schutmaat
Publisher: Silas Finch Foundation, New York

Down These Mean Streets
Photographer: Will Steacy
Publisher: b.frank books, Zurich

Ad Infinitum
Photographer: Kris Vervaeke
Publisher: Self-published

Return to Sender
Photographer: Sipke Visser
Publisher: Self-published

Dalston Anatomy
Photographer: Lorenzo Vitturi
Publisher: Jibijana Books in association with SPBH Editions, London and Milan

La Montagne Dorée
Photographer: Myriam Ziehli
Publisher: Self-published

The ten short-listed titles for Photobook of the Year are:

A01 [COD.] — A27 [S | COD.23]Photographer: Rosângela Rennó
Publisher: Self-published

Holy Bible
Editors: Adam Broomberg and Oliver Chanarin
Publisher: MACK / Archive of Modern Conflict, London

New York Arbor
Photographer: Mitch Epstein
Publisher: Steidl, Göttingen, Germany

Iris Garden
Photographer: William Gedney / Text: John Cage
Publisher: Little Brown Mushroom, St. Paul

The Black Photo Album / Look at Me: 1890–1950
Photographer: Santu Mofokeng
Publisher: Steidl, Göttingen

Surrendered Myself to the Chair of Life
Photographer: Jin Ohashi
Publisher: AKAAKA, Tokyo

Rasen Kaigan
Photographer: Lieko Shiga
Publisher: AKAAKA, Tokyo

Birds of the West Indies
Photographer: Taryn Simon
Publisher: Hatje Cantz, Ostfildern, Germany

The Pigs
Photographer: Carlos Spottorno
Publisher: Phree and Editorial RM, Madrid

War/Photography: Images of Armed Conflict and Its Aftermath
Photographers: Various
Authors: Anne Wilkes Tucker and Will Michels with Natalie Zelt
Publisher: Museum of Fine Arts, Houston / Yale University Press, New Haven, Conn./London